Buhari reshuffles cabinet as new minister take oath of office

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday reshuffled his cabinet, as seven new ministers recently screened and confirmed by the Senate took their oath of office.

The President swore in the ministers as he presided over the regular Wednesdays Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The Ministers who took their oath in two batches include Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State, Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State! Odum Odih – Rivers State and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State.
The second batch sworn in are, Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State, Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State and Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State.

The President later assigned the new Ministers with their portfolios, in which he also made some minor cabinet changes

In the new arrangement, Adeleke Mamora, was moved from office of Minister of State, Health, to head the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, as full fledge Minister.

Mua’azu Sambo, was named new Minister of Transportation, while Umanna Okon Umanna, assumed headship of the Niger Delta Ministry as the substantive Minister.

Sharon Ikeazor, was moved from the Ministry of Environment to Minister of State for Niger Delta

Gbemisola Saraki was also moved from the Ministry of Transportation to the Ministry of Mines and Steel Development, as Minister of State

Umar Ibrahim El- Yakub, assumed office as the new Minister of State for Works and Housing.

Goodluck Nanah Opia, was appointed new Minister of State Minister, for Education, recently vacated by Emeka Nwanjiuba.

Ekunmankama Joseph Nkama , one of the newly appointed Ministers, was posted to the Ministry of Health, as Minister of State.

Read also: Buhari reappoints Oniha, DG, DMO

Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu was made the Minister of State, Science , Technology and Innovation

This is just as Odum Udi, takes over as Minister of State for Environment

Ademola Adewole Adegoroye, was posted to the Ministry of Transportation, as the Minister of State.

Before the swearing in, a minute silence was observed in honour of Mohammed Barkindo, the 4th Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC Secretary-General, who died at the age of 63, Tuesday night.

Those who physically attended the FEC are the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; and Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari.

Other Ministers who are also in attendance include the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Education, Adamu Adamu, Communication and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, Mines and Steel, Olamilekan Adegbite, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, and Minister of State Budget, National Planning, Clem Agba and State, Industry Trade and Investment, Maryam Katagun.

Source link

Related posts

Titan Trust Bank’s dom account holders to get up to 4% interest for saving $20, 000

James Faulkner

2023: Muslim-Muslim ticket, a far greater evil than another northern president

James Faulkner

Amazon launches Prime Video Naija

James Faulkner